Using a Cloudant database with a BlueMix application

I wanted to learn how to use the Cloudant database with a BlueMix application. I found this great blog post Build a simple word game app using Cloudant on Bluemix by Mattias Mohlin. I’ve been working through it.

image001

I’ve learned a lot from it – as the writer says “I’ll cover aspects that are important when developing larger applications, such as setting up a good development environment to enable local debugging. My goal is to walk you through the development of a small Bluemix application using an approach that is also applicable to development of large Bluemix applications.” So it includes developing on a PC and also setting up Cloudant outside of BlueMix.

So here’s my simplified version focusing purely on getting an application up and running using a Cloudant BlueMix service and staying in DevOps Services as much as possible.

The first step is to take a copy of Mattias’s code so go to the GuessTheWord DevOps Services project.

click on “Edit Code” and then “Fork”

image003

I chose to use the same project name GuessTheWord – in DevOps Services it will be unique as it’s in my project space.

image005

This takes me into my own copy of the project so I can start editing it.

I need to update the host in the manifest file otherwise the deployment will conflict with Mattias’s. So in my case I change it to GuessTheWordGarforth but you’ll need to change it to something else otherwise yours will clash with mine. Don’t forget to save the file with Ctrl-S, or File/Save or at least changing file.

image007

Now I need to set up the app and bind the database on BlueMix so I click on “deploy”. I know it won’t run but it will start to set things up.

At this point I logged onto BlueMix itself for the first time and located the new GuessTheWord in the dashboard.

image009

I clicked on it and selected “add a service” and then scrolled down to the Cloudant NoSQL DB

image011image013

and click on it. I clicked on “create” and then allowed it to restart the application. Unsurprisingly it still did not start as there is more coding to do. However the Cloudant service is there so I clicked on “Show Credentials” and saw that the database has  username, password, url etc so the registration etc on the Cloudant site is not necessary as this is all handled by BlueMix.

image015image017Clicking on Runtime on the left and then scrolling down to Environment variables I can see that these Cloudant credentials have been set up as VCAP_SERVICES environment variables for my app. So I just need to change the code to use these.

I switch back to DevOps Services and go to the server.js file to modify the code for accessing this database.

I change line 27 from
Cloudant = env[‘user-provided’][0].credentials;
to
Cloudant = env[‘CloudantNoSQLDB’][0].credentials;

So we’re providing the high level environment variable not the name or the label.

Unfortunately there is also an error in Mattias’s code. I don’t know whether the BlueMix Cloudant service has changed since he wrote it but he builds the url for the database by adding the userid and password to it but actually these are already in my environment variable url

so I change line 30 from

var nano = require(‘nano’)(‘https://’ + Cloudant.username + ‘:’ + Cloudant.password + ‘@’ + Cloudant.url.substring(8));
to simply
var nano = require(‘nano’)(Cloudant.url);

Now save the file and click deploy. When it’s finished a message pops up saying see manual deployment information in the root folder page.

image019

So I click on that and hopefully see a green traffic light in the middle.

image021

Click on the GuessTheWord hyperlink and should take you to the working game which in my case is running at

http://guessthewordgarforth.mybluemix.net/

image023

However there are still no scores displayed as there is no database table or entries.

I spent a long time trying to do this next part in the code but eventually ran out of time and had to go through the Cloudant website. If anyone can show me how to do this part in code I’d really appreciate it.

So for now, go to the GuessTheWord app on BlueMix and click on the running Cloudant service

image025

From here you get to a Launch button

image027

Pressing this logs you on to the Cloudant site using single sign on

image029

Create a new database named guess_the_word_hiscores. Then click the button to create a new secondary index. Store it in a document named top_scores and name the index top_scores_index. As Mattias says, the map function defines which objects in the database are categorised by the index and what information we want to retrieve for those objects. We use the score as the index key (the first argument to emit), then emit an object containing the score, the name of the player, and the date the score was achieved. Following is the JavaScript implementation of the map function, which we need to add before saving and building the index.

function(doc) {
emit(doc.score, {score : doc.score, name : doc.name, date : doc.date});
}

image031

Again, we should really be able to do the following as part of the program startup but anyway, the following should add an entry to the database, replacing guessthewordgarforth in the URL with the host name you chose for your application:

http://guessthewordgarforth.mybluemix.net/save_score?name=Bob&score=4

You should see a success message. Enter the following URL, again replacing guessthewordgarforth with your application host name.

http://guessthewordgarforth.mybluemix.net/hiscores

The entry you just added should appear encoded in JSON e.g.

[{“score”:4,”name”:”Bob”,”date”:”2014-08-07T14:27:34.553Z”}]

So, the code and the database are working correctly. Now it just remains to play the game. Go to

http://guessthewordgarforth.mybluemix.net

(replacing guessthewordgarforth with your hostname)

This time it will include Bob in the high score table

image033

and click on “Play!”

game

2 Responses to “Using a Cloudant database with a BlueMix application”


  1. 1 Mattias Mohlin August 28, 2014 at 3:05 pm

    This is a good summary of my article. Yes, the CloudantDB service was changed since I wrote the article. Now it’s no longer necessary to register with Cloudant outside of Bluemix, and as you say this simplifies the code.
    I will update the article.
    To create and configure the database programmatically you can use the Cloudant APIs (see https://docs.cloudant.com/api/index.html).


  1. 1 Adventures in PaaS, Day #2 | The Billbot Files Trackback on August 29, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Leave a Reply

My twitter feed


